Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Register

 NCOBPS Awards Overview


To encourage relevant scholarship, academic excellence and political activism, the National Conference of Black Political Scientists established six awards to be presented as part of the Annual Awards Program at the Annual Meetings. Students and faculty can nominate themselves or others for an award (click below to make a nomination).

Annual Awards are given for the following sections: (1) Distinguished Book, (2) Teacher of the Year, (3) Outstanding Community Service, (4) Best paper by a faculty member, (5) Best paper by a student, and (6) Best paper by a graduate student on the topic of the LGBT African American community and its participation in American political life. Winners are selected by separate Awards Committee Divisions under the directive of the Awards Committee Chair pursuant to the policies and procedures in the NCOBPS Constitution and By-Laws (Chapter IV: Other Committees).

Three additional awards, established by separate foundations, are presented at the Annual Awards Program: (1) The Jewel Limar Prestage Mentorship Award, (2) Graduate Assistantship Program, Inc. (GAP) Scholarship, and (3) The Dianne M. Pinderhughes Mentorship Legacy Award; each has independent reviews and deadlines.

The President-Elect serves as the Awards Committee Chair. S/he selects the Awards Section Head(s), responsible for the coordination and selection of recipients for the Annual Awards with the exception of the Jewel Limar Prestage Mentorship Award and Graduate Assistantship Program, Inc. (GAP) Scholarship.
NCOBPS Awards Deadlines is November 11th
The W.E.B. DuBois Distinguished Book Award-Deadline January 1, 2018
The Anna Julia Cooper Teacher of the Year Award
The Fannie Lou Hamer Outstanding Community Service Award
The Rodney Higgins Best Faculty Paper Award
The Sammy Younge Best Student Paper Award
The Bayard Rustin Best Graduate Student LGBT Paper Award  
February 1
The Jewel Limar Prestage Mentorship Award (Foundation has independent review)
March 1
Graduate Assistantship Program, Inc. (GAP) Scholarship (Foundation has independent review)
February 16
The Dianne M. Pinderhughes Mentorship Legacy Award (Foundation has independent review)
Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal