Dear NCOBPS Members,

The National Conference of Black Political Scientists (NCOBPS) enthusiastically announces the following award recipients for their scholarship and achievements in our profession and community for the 2016 and 2017 award-years.

We congratulate all the awardees, and we, especially, thank all awards chairs/co-chairs and their committee members for their dedication in determining this year’s recipients.

Best regards,

Shayla C. Nunnally
President-Elect (2015-2017)

Winners 2017

AwardAward Recipient(s)Work(s)
W.E.B. Du Bois Distinguished Book Award(Co-Winner) Shatema ThreadcraftIntimate Justice: The Black Female Body and the Body Politic
W.E.B. Du Bois Distinguished Book Award(Co-Winner) Daniel Q. GillonGoverning with Words: The Political Dialogue on Race, Public Policy, and Inequality in America
Rodney Higgins Best Faculty Paper AwardPearl K. Dowe, Brinck Kerr, Grace Kerr and Will H. Miller“What are the Determinants of Interethnic Competition for Principal Positions in Multiethnic U. S. School Districts?”
Fannie Lou Hamer Outstanding Community Service AwardChristopher Witt
Sammy Younge Best Student Paper AwardJonathan Collins“The Politics of Childcare: The Role of Racial Attitudes and Traditional Family Values in Shaping Childcare Policy Preferences”
Bayard Rustin Best LGBTQ+ Student Paper AwardSharonda D. Woodford, Nadia E. Brown“Invisible Bodies: The Politics of Violence on Black Masculine Lesbians”
Alex Willingham Best Political Theory Paper AwardCharisse Burden-Stelly“Anticommunism, Antiradicalism, and Antiblackness: Theories, Queries, and Lessons for the Present”