Rodney Higgins Best Faculty Paper

Chair: Dr. Albert Samuels,

This award is named in honor of Dr. Rodney Higgins (1911-1964), the long-time chair of the Department of Political Science at Southern University in Baton Rouge, LA. Under Dr. Higgins’ leadership, Southern University developed a first-rate political science department and produced an impressive number of political science graduates who went on to become outstanding members of the profession. In turn, these graduates mentored an even greater number of black political scientists. Included among Dr. Higgins’ students were Jewel Limar Prestage, Twiley and Lucius Barker, Shelby Lewis, Alex Willingham, Mack Jones, and Thomas Todd. Papers must be received by February 1, 2024.