Dear NCOBPS Members,

The National Conference of Black Political Scientists (NCOBPS) enthusiastically announces the following award recipients for their scholarship and achievements in our profession and community for the 2016 and 2017 award-years.

We congratulate all the awardees, and we, especially, thank all awards chairs/co-chairs and their committee members for their dedication in determining this year’s recipients.

Best regards,

Shayla C. Nunnally
President-Elect (2015-2017)

Winners 2019

AwardAward Recipient(s)Work(s)
W.E.B. Du Bois Distinguished Book Award(Co-Winner) Danielle Pillar Clealand, University of South FloridaThe Power of Race in Cuba: Racial Ideology and Black Consciousness during the Revolution
W.E.B. Du Bois Distinguished Book Award(Co-Winner) Domingo Morel, Rutgers University-NewarkTakeover: Race, Education, and American Democracy
Rodney Higgins Best Faculty Paper AwardMaziki Thame, Clark Atlanta University"The Death of the (Workers Party) Left and Contemporary Politics in Jamaica"
Fannie Lou Hamer Outstanding Community Service AwardBoris Ricks, California State University, Northridge
Anna Julia Cooper Teacher of the Year Award(Co-Winner) Michael Clemons, Old Dominion University
Anna Julia Cooper Teacher of the Year Award(Co-Winner) D’Andra Orey, Jackson State University
Sammy Younge Best Student Paper AwardJohn Lionetti"Assimilation and Black Immigrants:  Comparing the Political Opinions of Caribbeans and African Americans"
Alex Willingham Best Political Theory Paper AwardKeisha Lindsay, University of Wisconsin at Madison"Black 'Ladies' and the Art of Resistance"