Anna Julia Cooper Teacher of the Year Award

Chair: Dr. Emmitt Riley,

This award is given in respect of Dr. Anna Julia Cooper (1858-1964), the fabled administrator and teacher of the M Street School and founder of the Frelinghauysen University for adult education in Washington, D.C. Dr. Cooper was born into a condition of enslavement but secured her Ph.D. in French from the Sorbonne. If warranted, two awards may be given in the same year to one Senior and one Junior faculty member, who demonstrate Excellence in the classroom as teachers, advisers, and academic mentors to students.

There are no restrictions on nominees, and self-nominations, as well as nominations by others, are encouraged.

All nominations and supporting materials must be received by February 1, 2024.  Documentations should be submitted to the Awards Chair.

Junior faculty should submit documentation from the past three (3) years. Senior faculty should submit documentation for the past ten (10) years. Supporting documentation should include, but is not limited to the following:

  1. A Current Curriculum Vitae;
  2. Letters of nomination and/or support from administrators, faculty, staff and past and present students. (In order to avoid the appearance of “Conflict of Interest,” candidates are encouraged to seek letters from past students.);
  3. One-page statistical summary of overall student evaluations over a period of three (3) years (if possible);
  4. Supporting documentation on events, programs, and activities geared toward improving student learning and development;

PDF Files are acceptable and recommended for easier and timely distribution.