Dear NCOBPS Members,

The National Conference of Black Political Scientists (NCOBPS) enthusiastically announces the following award recipients for their scholarship and achievements in our profession and community for the 2016 and 2017 award-years.

We congratulate all the awardees, and we, especially, thank all awards chairs/co-chairs and their committee members for their dedication in determining this year’s recipients.

Best regards,

Shayla C. Nunnally
President-Elect (2015-2017)

Winners 2018

AwardAward Recipient(s)Work(s)
W.E.B. Du Bois Distinguished Book Award(Co-Winner) Caroline Shenaz Hossein Politicized Microfinance: Money, Power and Violence in the Black Americas
W.E.B. Du Bois Distinguished Book Award(Co-Winner) Keesha Middlemass Convicted and Condemned: The Politics and Policies of Reentry
Rodney Higgins Best Faculty Paper AwardGladys Mitchell-Walthour "Afro-­‐Brazilian Woman and Bolsa Familia"
Fannie Lou Hamer Outstanding Community Service AwardElsie L. Scott, Howard University
Anna Julia Cooper Teacher of the Year AwardEmmitt Riley, Depauw University
Sammy Younge Best Student Paper AwardDilara Uskup "Politicking Pastors: Experimenting with Womanist Theological Messages: 'I'm with Her'"
Bayard Rustin Best LGBTQ+ Student Paper AwardChaya Y. Crowder "The Radical Inclusivity of the Black Lives Matter Movement"
Alex Willingham Best Political Theory Paper AwardDebra Thompson "An Exoneration of Black Rage"