Pinderhughes Mentorship Award

The Dianne M. Pinderhughes Mentorship Legacy Award

The Dianne M. Pinderhughes Mentorship Legacy Award, established through the Dianne M. Pinderhughes Foundation, (DMPF, Inc.), is a scholarship award for undergraduate students to attend the National Conference of Black Political Scientists (NCOBPS). The creation of this award, by her former students, honors Dr. Pinderhughes’s positive influence on their careers and continues her legacy of outstanding scholarship, teaching, and dedicated mentorship for the benefit of future generations.

The awardee will receive a travel stipend reimbursement of $500.

Category 1:
Undergraduate students presenting papers during the conference;
Category 2:
Undergraduate students who are not presenting but attending the conference to gain insight on groundbreaking Black politics research and to consider a political science related career.

Nominations and Requirements

  • All nominations and supporting materials must be received on or before March 4 of the award year.
  • There are no restrictions on nominees. Self-nominations as well as nominations by others are encouraged. Undergraduate students who have previously attended the NCOBPS Annual Meeting may apply; however, preference will be given to first-time attendees and applicants from departments of political science.
  • An independent selection committee will review the applications and select the winning recipient.
  • If presenting, include a copy of the paper proposal. A copy of documents from the online paper submission system is acceptable. (Category 1)
  • All nominees must submit a one page cover letter introducing themselves, explaining their interest in political science, and stating how attending NCOBPS will benefit them and the organization. (Categories 1 and 2)
  • All nominees must submit a letter of support from a faculty mentor, professor, chair of the department, or an activist mentor with whom they have organized. (Categories 1 and 2)


Those interested should submit required documents by March 4.

Please submit all required documents electronically to Dr. Lorrie Frasure-Yokley, Award Committee Chair with the following subject line, “Pinderhughes Mentorship Legacy Award.” Email address for submissions: