National Conference of Black Political
Scientists

51st Annual Meeting, March 11-14, 2020
Hilton Garden Inn, Atlanta-Buckhead
3342 Peachtree Road, NE, Atlanta, Georgia, 30326
Members are responsible for making their own Hotel Reservations   Room Rates=$145 per night
or
Call 800-222-8733 and ask for National Conference of Black Political Scientists
All individual reservations have a 48-Hour cancellation policy.

Call for Proposals

Deadline for Submissions is November 1, 2019

Conference Co-Chairs:
Keesha Middlemass, Howard University, keesha.middlemass@Howard.edu Domingo Morel, Rutgers University-Newark, domingo.morel@rutgers.edu @NCOBPSTweets and
#NCOBPS2020

Black Politics and the “War” on Blackness
In 1964, Lyndon Johnson declared a “War on Poverty” and nearly 50 years have passed since Richard Nixon declared a “War on Drugs”. Sufficient time has passed to allow us to better understand the implications of these “wars” on Black citizens, Black communities, and Black politics. The conference theme, Black Politics and the “War” on Blackness, examines how the study of Black politics in the 21st Century can show us how to assess the intended and unintended effects of these public policies and chart new paths for addressing contemporary issues in the areas of policing, criminal justice, healthcare, education, and more.

The word “war” has been used to problematize social problems, and indicates the power of the state to disapprove and reject “others.” A reason that punitive policies are allowed to flourish is that society has used “war” as a metaphor that immediately brings to mind armed combat, physical confrontation, and hostilities. War is also a powerful symbol that represents aggressive competition and rivalry between two opposing sides that are in conflict over a set of values, morals, principles or tenets. The term “war” has allowed the government to unleash its resources to defeat the “enemy,” and in many instances the explicit enemy is Blackness, Black bodies, and Black experiences. As a result, “war” is a policy decision that spawns a number of related laws, strategies, and rules to harness and control Black bodies.

Politicians have
problematized the word “war,” and in order to address what “war” means for
Black politics, Black bodies, and Black experiences, we encourage paper
proposals and panel submissions that address “war” within the context of Black
politics, Black bodies, and Black experiences. We also encourage proposals that
tackle what it means to deconstruct war and how public policies can change the
lives of Black people and our struggles as they relate to diasporic racial
politics, international struggles, Black social movements, and Blackness.

Section Chairs & Co-Chairs

Section I: African & Diaspora Politics
Kingsley Esedo, Southern University, Kingsley_esedo@subr.edu Takiyah Harper-Shipman, Davidson College,
taharpershipman@davidson.edu

Section II: Politics, Inequality & Social Justice
Meghan Wilson, University of Chicago, mewilson@uchicago.edu
Nyron Crawford, Temple University, Nyron.crawford@temple.edu

Section III: Comparative Politics, International Relations & Transnational Relations
Adryan Wallace, Stony Brook University, Adryan.Wallace@stonybrook.edu
Mai Hassan, University of Michigan, mhass@umich.edu

Section IV: Identity Politics: Gender, Class, Ethnicity, LGBTQ+, Sexuality, Religion & Queer Politics
Lakeyta Bonnette, Georgia State University, lbonnette@gsu.edu
Tamelyn Tucker-Worgs, Hood College, tuckerworgs@hood.edu

Section V: Teaching & Professional Development
Christina Rivers, DePaul University, crivers@depaul.edu
Nadia Brown, Purdue University, brown957@purdue.edu

Section VI: Undergraduate Research
Boris E. Ricks, CSU-Northridge, boris.ricks@csun.edu
Teri Platt, Clark Atlanta University, tplatt@cau.edu

Section VII: Political Theory & Political Philosophy
Revathi Hines, Southern University and A&M College, revathi_hines@subr.edu
Keisha Lindsay, University of Wisconsin, knlindsay@wisc.edu

Section VIII: Public Policy & Political Institutions
Natasha Christie, University of North Florida, n.christie@unf.edu
K. Jurée Capers, Georgia State University, kcapers@gsu.edu

Section IX: Public Opinion & Political Participation
Davin Phoenix, UC-Irvine, dphoenix@uci.edu
Brianna Nicole Mack, Ohio Wesleyan University, bnmack@owu.edu

Section X: Afro-Latino Politics
Danielle Pilar Clealand, Florida International U., danielle.clealand@fiu.edu