Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Register
Best Faculty Paper

Rodney Higgins Best Faculty Paper

This award is named in honor of Dr. Rodney Higgins (1911-1964), the long time chair of the Department of Political Science at Southern University in Baton Rouge, LA. Under Dr. Higgins' leadership, Southern University developed a first-rate political science department and produced an impressive number of political science graduates who went on to become outstanding members of the profession. In turn, these graduates mentored an even greater number of black political scientists. Included among Dr. Higgins' students were Jewel Limar Prestage, Twiley and Lucius Barker, Shelby Lewis, Alex Willingham, Mack Jones, and Thomas Todd.

The best paper by a faculty member is selected from papers presented at the Annual Meeting of the immediately preceding year. Panel chairs are encouraged to forward those whose papers they believe to be outstanding to the Section Heads and/or Program Chairs, who will re-direct the papers to the Awards Committee Division Head(s) or Awards Committee Chair for consideration.

Papers must be received on or before November 1 of the year preceding the next Annual Meeting.

Documentation should be submitted to the Awards Committee Sections Head(s) for distribution.

PDF Files are acceptable and recommended for easier and timely distribution.
Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal