Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Register
Call for Papers


2019 Annual Meeting of the National Conference of Black Political Scientists

Living the Legacy (The 50th Anniversary):

Understanding the Future of Black Politics through the History of NCOBPS

CALL FOR PAPERS

PROGRAM CO-CHAIRS

Sharon Wright Austin, University of Florida-Email: Polssdw@ufl.edu

Chryl Laird, Bowdoin College-Email: claird@bowdoin.edu

Ismail White, Duke University-Email: Ismail.white@duke.edu

 

https://hq.ssrn.com/conference=2019-NCOBPS

CLICK ABOVE TO SUBMIT PROPOSAL

The National Conference of Black Political Scientists will celebrate its 50th anniversary in 2019! In honor our golden anniversary, the 2019 conference (March 13th-17th) we will be returning to where it all began, Baton Rouge, Louisiana.  Baton Rouge is rich in black political history as the location of the first annual meeting of NCOBPS, the first civil rights bus boycott in 1953 and the home of the illustrious HBCU, Southern University. To mark this extraordinary occasion the theme of the conference is, Living the Legacy. Derived from the Ghanian tradition of “sankofa,” Living the Legacy will emphasize our strong belief that in order for us to proceed in our forward march, the knowledge of the past must never be forgotten.

The conference chairs are seeking research, panels, posters, and roundtable discussions for the 2019 conference that engage our theme, Living the Legacy. We encourage scholarship and research that examines how far we have come in the black freedom struggle since the founding of NCOBPS; the historical significance of 50th anniversary and what we expect for the future of the organization; the importance of black politics, economics, and culture as we move further into the 21stcentury; and what do we need to learn from our predecessors and ancestors to maintain our community voice in current and future political discourse?

 

2019 NCOBPS Section Chairs


African and Diaspora Politics

Co-Chairs: Kingsley Esedo , Southern University, Baton Rouge        
Email: KINGSLEY_ESEDO@subr.edu 

Gloria Underwood, Southern University, Baton Rouge                       
Email:
gloria_underwood@subr.edu

Jean-Germain Gros , University of Missouri, St. Louis                       
E
mail: jg.gros@umsl.edu

Politics, Inequality, and Social Justice

Co-Chairs: Meghan Wilson, University of Chicago                                    
Email: mewilson@uchicago.edu
Nyron Crawford, Temple University
Email: 
nyron.crawford@temple.edu

Comparative Politics, International RelationsCo-C and Transnational Politics

Co-Chairs: Hannibal Leach, Fisk University                                     
Email: aleach@fisk.edu

Dorian Crosby, Spelman College                                                           
Email
:
dcrosby1@spelman.edu

Identity Politics: Gender, Class, Ethnicity, Sexuality and Religion

Chair: Lafleur Stephens, Princeton University                                   
Email
: lafleurs@Princeton.edu

Teaching, Scholarly Research, and Professional Development

Co-Chairs: Andrea Benjamin, University of Missouri                       
Email
: benjaminan@missouri.edu

Nicky Mack, Ohio Wesleyan University                                              
Email
:  bnmack@owu.edu

Afro-Latino Politics
Chair
: Tony Affigne, Providence College

Email: affigne@providence.edu

Political Theory, Philosophy, and Methodology

Co-Chairs: Marcus Board, Georgetown University                            
Email
:  Meb414@georgetown.edu

Maruice Mangum, Alabama A and M University                               
Email:
maruice.mangum@aamu.edu

Undergraduate Research
Co-Chairs: Julian Wamble
Stonybrook University                          
Email
: julian.wamble@stonybrook.edu

Emmitt Riley, DePauw University                                                         
Email:
emmittriley@depauw.edu


Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal