Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Register
Call for Papers

 

Call for Papers
48th Annual Meeting of the

National Conference of Black Political Scientists
March 15-18, 2017
San Diego, CA 

Crowne Plaza
2270 Hotel Circle North
San Diego, California  92108 

Deadline for Paper and Panel Proposals is October 1, 2016

Click Below to Submit Proposals

http://hq.ssrn.com/conference=2017-NCOBPS

Conference Co-Chairs

Dr. Christina Greer (cgreer@fordham.edu) and Dr. Ravi Perry (rkperry@vcu.edu)

  

Black Politics at an Intersection: Challenging Persistent Inequities

 

Please join us March 15-18, 2017, as the National Conference of Black Political Scientists (NCOBPS) will host its 48th Annual Meeting in San Diego, CA. The conference theme, Black Politics at an Intersection: Challenging Persistent Inequities, explores the inter- and intra-sections of movements, methodologies, demographics, and strategies within 21st century Black politics.   Blackness has always been a contested political reality.  For centuries, the state has long curtailed Black access to make justice a reality.   In the last century, political candidates often sought to use Blacks’ nascent political opportunities – from voting to elected office and issue campaigns – for personal political expediency with limited tangible benefits for Black communities.  More recently, prominent voices within Black political struggles have even implicated a narrow vision of Black politics – a view too often laced in one-dimensional understandings of protest and identity formation.  Throughout each of these intersections, despite progress, persistent inequalities and dogged inequities have remained. Powerful voices within Black grassroots spaces of political engagement have argued a different narrative.  These voices and their allies have served to engage a theory of Blackness and Black politics, centered on the multiplicity of strategies, visions, and activisms available to realize Black inclusion in politics.  

We encourage proposals that assess the heterogeneity within and external to Blackness and scholarship that recognizes Blackness as both a political and ascriptive identity.  We also encourage posters, papers and panels that give further insight into diasporic racial politics and international struggles and triumphs of Black movements internationally.  San Diego, California, a border town, is an ideal conference location that will assist conference attendees in broadening analyses of the role and place of Black identity and the inequitable outcomes that persist in Black communities across the United States. The geographic intersections of border politics and global Blackness contribute to the dialogue of Black Politics at an Intersection that extends beyond the boundaries of the U.S. polity.

Please note, paper and panel proposals due October 1st, acceptances mailed by November 1st, and participation contingent on your registration by December 15th.

 

SECTIONS

 

 

CO-CHAIR 1

 

CO-CHAIR 2

I.African and Diaspora Politics

 

Dr. Kurt Young

Clark Atlanta University
kyoung@cau.edu

Dr. Maziki Thame

University of West Indies, Mona, Jamaica
maziki.thame@gmail.com

II.Politics, Inequality, and Social Justice

Dr. Natasha Christie
University of NorthFlorida
n.christie@unf.edu

 

III.Comparative Politics, International Relations, and Transnational Politics

 

Dr. Michael Clemons
Old Dominion University
mclemons@odu.edu

 

 

IV.Identity Politics: Gender, Class, Ethnicity, Sexuality, and Religion

 

Dr. Tonya Williams
Johnson C. Smith University
lmwilliams@jcsu.edu

Dr. James Taylor
University of San Francisco
taylorj@usfca.edu

 

V.Teaching, Scholarly Research, and Professional Development

 

Dr. Boris Ricks
California State University, Northridge
boris.ricks@csun.edu

Dr. Christopher Whitt
Augustana College
ChristopherWhitt@Augustana.edu


 

VI.Undergraduate Research

 

 

Dr. Khalilah Brown-Dean

Quinnipiac University

Khalilah.Brown-Dean@quinnipiac.edu

 

 

 

VII.Political Theory, Philosophy, and Methodology

 

 

Dr. Niambi Carter
Howard University
niambicarter@gmail.com

 

Dr. Cory Gooding
University of San Diego
cgooding.edu

 

VIII.Political Institutions and Public Policy

 

 

Dr. Angela Lewis
University of Alabama@Birminghamdralewis@uab.edu

 

Dr. Emmitt Riley
Depauw University
emmittriley@depauw.edu

IX.Politics and Popular Culture

Dr. Lakeyta Bonnette
Georgia State University
Lbonnette@gsu.edu

Dr. H. Lavar Pope
Ohio University
lavarpope@gmail.com

 

X.Public Opinion and Political Participation

 

 

Dr. Ray Block
University of Wisconsin, La Crosse
rblock@uwlax.edu

 

Dr. Maruice Mangum
North Carolina A&T University
maruicemangum@yahoo.com

 

 

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal