Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Register
Awards Committee


Dear NCOBPS Members:

The National Conference of Black Political Scientists (NCOBPS) is currently accepting nominations for its several awards to honor scholarship and achievements for the 2016 award- year. Please go to our website,, for additional information about the awards.

Submissions should be made to the chairs noted below and in accordance with the guidelines and deadlines for the respective awards. We also invite the section chairs and panel chairs from the 2016 Annual Meeting to recruit paper submissions from the 2016 conference to be considered for the awards.

We greatly appreciate your assistance in highlighting the excellent work of our members, and we look forward to receiving your nominations by the noted deadlines.

Best regards,
Shayla C. Nunnally
President-Elect (2015-2017)
National Conference of Black Political Scientists (NCOBPS)


PLEASE NOTE: For information and submission criteria for each award, please click on NCOBPS Awards and follow the links for each. This is provided for your information only.  

 2017 NCOBPS Awards Nomination Contacts


Please contact Shayla Nunnally ( ) for information on all awards

* W.E.B. Du Bois Distinguished Book Award

Co-Chairs:  Megan Ming Francis, University of Washington-
                   Christopher Stout, Oregon State University-

*Rodney Higgins Best Faculty Paper Award

Chair: Randolph Burnside, University of Southern Illinois (

* Fannie Lou Hamer Outstanding Community Service Award

Chair: Gladys Mitchell-Walthour, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee (

 * Anna Julia Cooper Teacher of the Year Award

Chair:   Walton Brown-Foster, Central Conneticut State University (

* Sammy Younge Best Student Paper Award

Chair: Monique L. Lyle, University of South Carolina (

* Alex Willingham Best Political Theory Paper Award

Chair: Shayla C. Nunnally (

* Bayard Rustin Best LGBT Student Paper Award

Chairs: Brittany Lewis, University of Minnesota (

Independent Foundations:

The Graduate Assistantship Program (GAP) Scholarship for Student Travel
Kathie Stromile Golden, GAP President
Mississippi Valley State University
Office of International Programs
14000 Highway 82 West, # 5209
Itta Bena, MS 38941-1400
Telephone: 662.254.3092
FAX: 662.254.3096
The Jewel Limar Prestage Mentorship Award
Shiela Harmon Martin, President
University of the District of Columbia
Shelby F. Lewis at
Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal